Annual Conference of Indian Association of Paediatric Surgeons held at PGIMER

Chandigarh, October 19, 2020: The 46th Annual Conference of Indian Association of Paediatric Surgeons (E-IAPSCON 2020) was held from 16th-18th October 2020 virtually in view of the current COVID-19 pandemic.
It was the first of its kind to be conducted by IAPS in association with PGIMER, Chandigarh, with over 500 participants from India and abroad.
Hundreds of scientific papers and posters were presented on various topics concerning Paediatric Surgery followed by a lively and informative discussion.
Prof. Ram Samujh, Head of the Department of Paediatric Surgery, PGIMER, Chandigarh, delivered the prestigious Prof.Mridula Rohatgi oration 2020 on “Multistage to Single Stage Scarless approach: The Journey of Hirschsprung at PGIMER, Chandigarh” .
Prof. Samujh is a renowned and experiencedPaediatric Surgeon.
He is an authority in the field of Paediatric Surgery and is well respected throughout the country.
He shared his 30 years of experience in dealing with Hirschsprung’s disease, which is a common disease yet a very challenging condition managed by Paediatric Surgeons across the world.
Prof. Samujh’s vast knowledge on the topic and his experience of dealing with difficult and problematic cases was very well received by the audience.
The Director of PGIMER, Chandigarh, Prof. Jagat Ram also congratulated Prof. Samujh for his inspirational speech and witnessed his live Oration which was an resounding success.
It was a proud moment for the department as Dr. Monika Bawa, Additional professor of Paediatric Surgery at PGIMER, Chandigarh was awarded the prestigious Fellowship of Indian Association of Paediatric Surgeons (FIAPS).
Senior residents of the Department of Paediatric Surgery, PGIMER, Chandigarh excelled at paper and poster presentations at the conference and won 9 medals.
The prestigious U.C. Chakraborty award was won by Dr. Swapnil Pattanshetti and K.K. Sharma award was bagged by Dr. Sheetal Upreti.
Other awards in their respective categories of paper and poster presentations were won by Dr. Priyanka Mittal, Dr. Manasa Reddy, Dr. Shaswati Behera, Dr. Sravanthi and Dr. Khyati.
Prof. Mahajan, Prof Ravi P. Kanojia, Dr. Prema Menon, Dr Monika Bawa, Dr Muneer A. Malik, Dr Nitin J Peters and Dr Shailesh Solanki chaired and moderated sessions in the conference virtually.
Dr Nitin J Peters has been elected as the Secretary of the Surgical Oncology Subsection (SOS) of the IAPS for a period of two years.
Prof. Ravi Kanojia, Honorary Secretary of Indian Association of Pediatric Surgeons very well managed the whole virtual conference and it was appreciated by the delegates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

United Newspapers, 3727, Sector 46 c, Chandigarh 160047.


Mobile: 9815047017