Rajiv Kumar takes over as new Election Commissioner

New Delhi, September 1, 2020: Rajiv Kumar today assumed charge as the new Election Commissioner (EC) of India.
Kumar joins with Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora and Election Commissioner Sushil Chandra.
Born on February 19, 1960, Rajiv Kumar is a 1984 batch Indian Administrative Service Officer.
During a span of more than 36 years of Government of India service, Kumar has worked in various Ministries at the Centre and his state cadre of Bihar/Jharkhand.
Acquiring his academic degrees of B.SC, LL.B, PGDM and MA Public Policy, Kumar has extensive work experience across Social Sector, Environment & Forests, Human Resources, Finance and Banking Sector.
He has keen commitment to use of technology applications and to bring about amendments in extant policy regime towards greater transparency, delivery of services to citizens directly, eliminating intermediaries.
Kumar retired as Finance Secretary in February 2020.
He was appointed as Chairman Public Enterprises Selection Board from April 2020 till demitting office on August 31, 2020.
Kumar has also been Establishment Officer, Department of Personnel and Training from 2015-17 and Joint Secretary, Department of Expenditure with earlier assignments in Ministry of Tribal Affairs, Ministry of Environment and Forests as also Education department in State cadre.
Rajiv Kumar is an avid trekker with keen interest in Indian classical and devotional music.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

United Newspapers, 3727, Sector 46 c, Chandigarh 160047.

Email: going46@gmail.com

Mobile: 9815047017